An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

About the Embassy Building

Estonia’s representation in Belgium dates back to early 1920s. Karl Robert Pusta (1883-1964) represented Estonia in Belgium between the two world wars from 1921 to 1932 first as Chargé d’Affaires and then as Ambassador.

Estonia’s first ambassador to Belgium after Estonia regained independence was Clyde Kull, who started work on 6 September 1992 and resided in Brussels. The Embassy building was bought in autumn 1992 to Auderghem on avenue Isidore Gerard. Opening reception was held on 24 February 1993.

Until 1996, Embassy shared the building with the Estonian Permanent Representation to the EU and until 1997 also with the representation to NATO. When joining the EU and NATO became Estonia’s foreign policy priority, it meant increasing the number of diplomats and it became clear that a small house could no longer accommodate all the people needed.

From the end of 2012 to 2017, the Embassy in Brussels was also accredited to Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and to Swiss Confederation.

In February 2012, the Embassy moved to the same building as the Estonian representation to the EU on rue Guimard 11/13, 1040 Brussels.

Year Estonian Ambassadors in Belgium
1921 – 1932 Karl Robert Pusta (at first chargé d’affaires a.i., later ambassador, residing in Paris)
1992 – 1996 Clyde Kull
1996 – 1999 Jüri Luik
1999 – 2003 Sulev Kannike
2003 – 2008 Malle Talvet-Mustonen
2008 – 2010 Karin Jaani
2010 – 2011 Mariin Ratnik
2012 – 2017 Gert Antsu (Ambassador to Belgium, to Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and to Swiss Confederation)
2017 2018 Lembit Uibo
2018- Toomas Tirs  (Ambassador to Belgium and to Grand Duchy of Luxembourg)